LibGuides: Online Databases & Newspaper Access: Secondary Databases

Kitsap Regional Library Databases

KRL Databases This link opens in a new window
The Kitsap Regional Library has many valuable databases available for student use. You will see many of them listed on this resource page.

STAFF - For KRL databases, use our NKHS Library Card # - 29068009444518

STUDENTS - For all KRL databases, here's how to log in:
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number

**If you have trouble logging in, please try first to clear your computer's cookies/cache.
To do that, open Chrome browser and find 3 dots at top right; go to Settings; go to Privacy & Security; go to Delete Browsing Data; pick a time range for deletion; you may want to uncheck the "Delete Browsing History" box if you don't want to lose your browsing history as well.**

World Book Online

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Login using your Active Directory credentials.This will ask you for your regular school login credentials (what you use to log in to your computer).

From World Book - World Book Online is ... "A comprehensive suite of e-learning resources designed for all ages and abilities with articles, videos, educator tools, eBooks, research guides and more."

Britannica Digital Learning

Britannica Digital Learning This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Research the arts, science and math with four full digital encyclopedias for multiple age groups."

ProQuest

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Review newspapers, books, dissertations, scholarly journals, publications and other media."

ProQuest History Study Center

ProQuest History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From ProQuest - "This targeted collection of full-text journals and popular magazines provides expansive coverage of a wide range of global historical topics and themes. Appropriate for use by researchers at all levels, this collection of authoritative current and archival secondary sources offers vital context and varied perspectives on thousands of topics from world history. Authoritative and engaging, the History Study Center provides a launching point for the study of history from ancient times through today."

eLibrary

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Prepare for your next paper. Explore articles, photos, maps, U.S. and foregin newspapers, reference books and more."

Sora for eBooks and Audiobooks

Sora for eBooks and Audiobooks
Try Sora to access ebooks and audiobooks on your school laptop.

- Click on the Sora link.
- Search for North Kitsap School District 400
- Click the green "Sign in...." button
- Choose your school Google account to sign in (this is your 09...@nkschools.org login)
- Once you're in, there are many great ways to search, preview, and check out books.

To read or listen on your phone, the free Sora app is also available in the Apple App Store and on Google Play. Search for Sora, by Overdrive Education.

Teachingbooks

Teachingbooks This link opens in a new window
Login through Clever.

Teachingbooks provides information, activities, author readings, and so much more about books K-12.

ProQuest Learning: Literature

Literature This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

Includes sections: Literary Criticism, Primary Texts, Author Pages, Reference Works, Audio & Video Collections, Dissertations, Book Reviews.

Gale - Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Learn more about your favorite books and authors with in-depth literary analysis, author biographies and details on other famous works."

Mango Languages

Mango Languages
You do not need to create an account unless you choose to do so. There's an option to "Use Mango As A Guest" though you will not be able to save your work.
Languages available for study - Spanish, French, English, Japanese, German, Korean.

Access through KRL (for initial login, not to create a Mango Languages account):
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

Personal / Guest Use of JSTOR

JSTOR Personal Use
JSTOR is a very robust database. We do not have a school or district subscription.
Right now, anyone can create a free account and get 100 articles per month. It's normally maxed at 6 but COVID access has been upped to 100. See below for links/access info.
Students can easily create 'personal accounts' using their school emails, authenticated w/ Google.
_________________________________

STEPS:
Create a personal JSTOR account (individaul per staff member & student).
Go to jstor.org (LINK ABOVE)
Click on Register
Register with Google - it will authenticate through your school email account.
- Normally students get 6 free articles per month. Right now, 100 free articles (COVID-19 allowance)
JSTOR - How to Register & Get Free Access to Content
More information

CultureGrams

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Explore cultures all over the world. Uncover facts and data figures from over 200 countries, vetted by local, in-country experts."

Gale - Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Understand controversy from all sides through articles, reference materials, essays, academic journals and more."

Gale - Biography in Context

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Discover the lives of people of interest with award-winning biographies and articles."

Gale - US History in Context

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Explore American history from pre-colonial times to the present."

Gale - World History in Context

World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Access provided by KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

From KRL - "Discover world history from antiquity to the present."

Peterson's Test and Career Prep

Peterson's Test and Career Prep
GED, SAT, GRE, scholarship and career information, practice exams and study materials are available through this database.

You will need to log in through KRL
Login - NK+Student ID Number
Password - Student ID Number
(Staff, use our library card # - 29068009444518)

After that, you will be required to create a separate login to use the materials on Peterson's website.

For EWU - College in the High School

EWU Libraries - https://www.ewu.edu/library/help/

Start here to see what the site has to offer.

Research Guide Tutorials - https://research.ewu.edu/tutorials

These tutorials are useful; short videos, mostly.

A-Z Databases - https://research.ewu.edu/az.php

Here are all the databases EWU has to offer you. Many universities and colleges will have a similarly robust list.

Login for High School Students - https://research.ewu.edu/c.php?g=334986&p=2253461#s-lg-box-1030912

Let’s make sure you can login.

Use your NetID username, password for databases. Link on “For High School Students” will help you retrieve it as needed.

Research Guide for English 101 - https://research.ewu.edu/english101

Research Guide for English 201 - https://research.ewu.edu/engl201