LibGuides: The Internment of Japanese Americans: Home

Noodletools

Noodletools This link opens in a new window
Login through CLEVER

Export your bibliography
Follow these steps to save your bibliography as a Google Doc and upload it to Classroom.

Executive Order 9066

A primary source from the National Archives

Timeline of Japanese American History

Timeline of Japanese American History

Exclusion Order

On December 7, 1941, Japan bombed Pearl Harbor, engaging the United States in World War II. Franklin D. Roosevelt, U.S. President, signed Executive Order 9066 ordering more than 100,000 Japanese Americans along the West Coast into federal detention camps.

Image: Exclusion order posted at First and Front Streets in San Francisco. Image from the National Archives.

Map of relocation centers, courtesy of National Park Service, https://50objects.org/map/

Recommended Databases

Britannica Digital Learning This link opens in a new window
Login: NK+student ID #
Password: student ID #
or use KRL #29068008153987

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Login: NK+student ID #
Password: student ID #
or use KRL #29068008153987

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Login with Clever

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Login: NK+student ID #
Password: student ID #
or use KRL #29068008153987

Discovery Education This link opens in a new window
Login with Clever

Recommended Websites

The National Archives
A large collection of photos, videos, and records that tell the story of Japanese Americans during World War II.
Library of Congress
This set of primary sources from the Library of Congress documents the experience of Japanese Americans during WWII
BIJAC
Information from the Bainbridge Island Japanese American community. Visit the "History" section learn about the exclusion and internment of Japanese Americans from Bainbridge Island.
50 Objects/Stories
A history project that explores the human impact of the mass incarceration of Japanese Americans during WWII.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive
From the University of California, this site contains thousands of primary sources documenting Japanese American internment and US War Relocation Authority documents pertaining life in the camps.
Bainbridge Island Japanese American Exclusion Memorial
Information and resources honoring the first Japanese Americans to be excluded, removed and incarcerated during WWII.
Densho.org
"Densho documents the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II."